Hypervocal Menu


‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ Is the Seven Deadly Sins

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

By India Kushner on August 23, 2012

Ready to have your mind blown? Seven characters from Roald Dahl’s classic Charlie and the Chocolate Factory represent the seven deadly sins.

1. Augustus Gloop is gluttony:

He’s either eating or thinking about eating. And his name rhymes with poop.

2. Veruca Salt is greed:

She’s a spoiled brat who always wants more.

• Steve Jobs Is Willy Wonka
• The Cast of ‘Willy Wonka’ Reunites After 40 Years

3. Violet Beauregarde is pride:

She’s always boasting.

4. Mike Teavee is sloth:

He sits and watches TV all the time.

5. Grandpa Joe is envy:

He wants what Wonka has (the factory) and Charlie has (the ticket).

6. Charlie is lust:

Not the sexual kind, but the intense desire.

7. … and Wonka is wrath:

He punishes everyone for their flaws.


Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter